Keynote speakers

  • Baroness Diana Warwick

    Baroness Diana Warwick

    Chair, National Housing Federation

    Diana was awarded a life peerage in 1999 in recognition for her public service. Baroness Warwick is currently the Chair of the National Housing Federation. She is also Chair of the Council of the Property Ombudsman.  She was Chair of the Human Tissue Authority until April 2014. Before that, she was Chief Executive of Universities UK for 14 years where she led a body representing the executive heads of 130 universities, both nationally and internationally. She was a Fulbright Commissioner until last year and is a life time fellow of the RSA. Diana was a leading trade unionist for 20 years. She was subsequently Chief Executive of the Westminster Foundation for Democracy in the 1990s.

    She was a member of the Nolan/Neill Committee on standards in public life; a Board Member of the British Council; a trustee of the Commonwealth Institute and Chair of Voluntary Service Overseas (and is still life Vice-President). She has been a Board Member of the National Council for Voluntary Organisations; a member of the Employment Appeal Tribunal; a non-executive Director of Lattice (now National Grid plc), a trustee Director of the Universities’ Superannuation Scheme (USS) Ltd and is currently a Board Member of the Pension Protection Fund. She is also Chair of the Trustees of the charity International Students’ House. Diana is a member of the Councils of University College London and Nottingham Trent University.     

  • Keith Williams

    Deputy Chairman, John Lewis Partnership (invited)


  • Suzy Brain England OBE

    Chair, Derwent Living

  • Stephen Bull

    Stephen Bull

    Senior Consultant, Campbell Tickell

    Stephen is an authority on housing governance having been working in the affordable housing sector for 20 years. At the HCA he was responsible for the regulation of over 200 organizations of all sizes and complexity including those embarking on the LSVT journey and those who were encountering difficulties in their governance and financial stability. As Head of Governance at the National Housing Federation Stephen has provided practical advice and policy guidance on governance issues as diverse as organizational governance structures, board appraisals, board recruitment and payment, regulation issues, mergers and the setting up of commercial subsidiaries - what structure is best, tax and liability implications to protect the stability and viability of the parent organization. 

  • Peter Dixon

    Chair, Optivo

  • Sir Peter Fahy

    Chair, Plus Dane Housing

  • Neil Gouldon

    Chair, Clarion Housing

  • James Green

    James Green

    Futures Programme Director, National Housing Federation

    James is responsible for the Federation’s work on the Futures Programme. Creating our Future will tap into the energy and enthusiasm of the entire sector to better understand the trends shaping the future and co-create ground-breaking ideas in response. James has a ten year track record in public affairs. He has worked for a number of MPs, lobbied politicians on a range of issues and led a number of campaigns, including Homes for Britain.

  • Jeff Harris

    Partner, BDO

  • Guddy Helevuo-Burnet

    Senior Business Partner (Domestic Abuse) , Peabody

  • Nicola Inchbald

    Chair, Rooftop Housing Group

  • Andrew Jackson

    Group Chairman, Aster Group

  • Paul Johnson

    Director, Institute for Fiscal Studies

  • Sir Edward Lister

    Chair, Homes and Communities Agency (invited)

  • Jacqui McKinlay

    Chief Executive, Centre for Public Scrutiny

  • Mike More

    Group Board Member and Chair, L&Q and Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • John Newbury

    Chair, RHP

  • David Orr

    David Orr

    Chief Executive, National Housing Federation

    David Orr is Chief Executive of the National Housing Federation and a former President of Housing Europe, the European network for Social Housing. He is the Chair of the board of Reall (previously known as Homeless International). He has recently retired from the board of the Housing Finance Corporation (THFC) and as Chair of Building Lives.

    Previously, David has been Chief Executive of the Scottish Federation of Housing Associations and of Newlon Housing Trust, having also worked with Centrepoint.

    David was awarded in 2010 an honorary membership of the CIH.

  • Sue Ramsden

    Sue Ramsden

    Policy Leader, National Housing Federation

  • Fay Selvan

    Chair, New Charter Housing Trust

  • Dipesh Shah OBE

    Chair, Genesis Housing Association

  • Rob Warm

    Head of Member Relations, National Housing Federation